Uncategorized

Criticism Attitudes

Out of all of the interesting reads we had this week, the one I found most interesting was the Essay On Criticism by Alexander Pope. This may be partially due to the fact that it also relates to a few things that I have personally been going through. The major reoccurring theme, in my opinion, is not getting down on ones self and to do everything you can at the best of your ability in the most positive attitude possible.

 

While trusting your instincts can get you quite far, having a support system that is positive and emotional stability can push a person past all expectations and goals. One person cannot do much on their own, and I have learned that through my experiences the past year. No matter how strong I thought I was, I was always better at whatever it was I was currently working on with positive and support friends and family behind me. I understand now that I am extremely grateful for having that type of support system, because it wasn’t always there. Pope mentions at one point about how the elite of the community and perhaps the world may seem perfect from the outside but even they have their faults. I know that I, while looking at some of my friends who have been blessed with success and prosper careers as of late, it seems like their lives are perfect. Everyone has their issues and some hide it better than others. Even the most flawless person has flaws, that is just life. Alexander Pope also speaks about education and how someone can either take it lightly and have it all disappear in an amount of time or jump into it and never stop learning. I know that, as someone who has had the signed dropout paperwork in hand standing outside of the administration building on campus, that learning does not come easy and is sometimes more work than one might want to put into it. Although something may come really easy to one person and the most difficult thing to accomplish to another, everyone has their own strengths and weaknesses. My strength, personally, is that I am great at fixing technical equipment and can lead a large group of people easily. My weakness is that I have trouble getting good grades in school because I am a terrible test taker and also have a hard time focusing on things that don’t interest me. The last thing in the essay that caught my eye was when he talked about the side of trust and how sometimes it can backfire on someone. I have always been taught to stand independent and trust few, if any. Sometimes though, you trust and get hurt, it’s just a way of life.

 

This essay really grasped many different types of attitudes of criticism and personalities we see even in modern society. I do hope we get to read more things like this over the semester, as it was the easiest for me to understand since it was the most relatable article.

2 thoughts on “Criticism Attitudes

  1. KEGO0545,
    I’m glad that you found some aspects of this essay that spoke to you. You comment on Pope’s attention to education — what lines caught your attention?
    You focus on what intersects with your interests, which is a good start, but I wonder if you might speak to how Pope’s message and/or themes resonate with the other works we have encountered.

    • The part about education that caught my attention was “A little learning is a dang’rous thing. Drink deep, or taste not the Pierian Spring: There shallow Draughts intoxicate the brain, and drink largely sobers us again.” This was the quote I was speaking of above when I originally mentioned education. Pope talks about how a little bit of education will disappear and too much will consume your life. There is a perfect amount and that no one should stop learning. Learning is what creates and builds a better community. Learning helps keep one humble because they see the good and the bad in the world and are not stubborn to one culture’s ideas or values. The learning section of his essay can also be related to the overall idea of creating one’s own opinions and taking others with an easy heart.

      His message can be brought into Addison’s article. The different types of Pleasure of the Imagination, great, uncommon, and beauty, are all tied into views based on others opinions. Pope talks about how people view others as one thing and base an opinion on them because of other people’s opinions. Addison, in turn, talks about how these opinions form different types of imagination.

Leave a Reply

