Uncategorized

Project

For the final project I am planning on writing a paper that will discuss the role or relationship to society for some of the characters in our readings. I think through the semester our readings have shown strong sense of placement and development of hierarchy in the society they represent and I plan to explore how this placing reinforces cultural stereotypes. After reading Equiano and Humphrey Clinker, alone, I know I have a lot I could write about, but my problem is whether I should do a full blown research paper where I could draw on several historical examples that could tie placement and roles in society together with our novels, or if I should try writing on one specific characters placement and how society views them. In that sense I could use a character like Clinker and develop his role to his peers in the novel, as well as discuss that type of person’s perspective within their era. This may be to broad but I would like to discuss. 

Leave a Reply

