Uncategorized

Suck It Up Crusoe

I fully understand that this post is going to make me seem insensative, but here we go. One of the things that I kept noticing throughout this novel was the fact that Robinson Crusoe continues to bring negative thoughts into his head. Granted, the guy was shipwrecked on an island inhabited by no other human, but he has much more to be greatful for than he does to be upset about. He mentions all of his good fortunes which is great that he acknowledges them. My problem is that he keeps questioning why he was saved and not his crew, and that only brings him back into a lowly state. He is undoubtedly a lucky man, but he needs to move on from these thoughts. I am one of those people who tries to live in the present as best as I can, and I definitely know how hard it can be. But I feel like in situations as dire as being stranded on an island, the most important thing you can do is keep a positive mindset. In my opinion, part of staying positive and hopeful would be to take extra length to try and be seen by other ships. Crusoe explains how he camped close to shore in the event that he saw another ship, but that is about it. He didn’t attempt to make smoke signals or take any other actions to attempt to be seen. Instead of questioning why God saved only you, he should be taking advantage of his second chance and work to get out of there. He sets up his camp very intricately and thoughtfully from the beginning as if he knew he was going to be there for years. Thoughts like that don’t exactly put someone in the right frame of mind. I found that Crusoe spends an excessive amount of time thinking. That is perfectly good, but I expect equal action. For example, he doesnt even consider making attempts to leave the island until he is years into his time at the island. Call me crazy, but the possiblities of leaving would have been my first thought.

One thought on “Suck It Up Crusoe

  1. This is interesting. Until I read this post, I felt that Crusoe was handling his situation with a remarkably good attitude. Its only natural that he feel some degree of survivors guilt, and I don’t think he thinks about it anymore than any normal sympathetic person would. At first he certainly had some musings of self-pity, but after his fever dream where an angle tells him he needs to repent, he seems to show significantly more gratitude for the abundance of supplies and sustenance on the island.

    However, I overlooked the strangeness of his lack of attempt to signal for rescue… Wouldn’t that be any reasonable persons’ first course of action? You’re right that he immediately seems to accept his fate and constructs his elaborate shelter without making much effort to be rescued. In fact, on page 58 he outlines his priorities on the island:

    1) Health and fresh water
    2) Shelter from the heat of the sun
    3) Security from ravenous creatures
    4) “A view of the sea… I was not willing to banish all my expectation [of deliverance] yet” (58).

    Rescue seems to be his lowest priority, something he seems to feel foolish for even expecting!

Leave a Reply

