Uncategorized

gender switch’s and cheap love

This story was very hard for me to understand, for one the spelling and the different style of writing  made it very difficult for me to follow exactly what was going on or who was writing what. But a character who stood out to me was Tabitha Bramble, I found it funny how in todays culture (to my own experience) she seems to play the role of a male. Tabitha seems to be very outgoing and has only one thought on her mind , MEN. Tabitha seems to act as a male by trying to always “catch” a spouse and plotting or doing whatever she has to in order to find one and then it always is backfiring Also Tabitha seems to be more open than I would assume woman to be in this time. . I thought that it was a little weird that Humphry Clinker is not in the first half of the book but only later joins while is a a servant,  why was the book named after him?

Another one of the female characters that was interesting was Lydia Melford. The romance situation she gets herself into  with wilson said a lot about the time period of the book. When Lydia is not allowed to love or contact the love of her life for he is a lower social class than her , it really struct me as an olden day dilemma as now this may not be such a “BIG” deaL.

 

I also would like to continue my own personal elaboration on Bramble’s quote on feces. after reading this quote I was stuck on the particular phrase , “Human excrement is the least offensive part of the concrete, which is composed of all the drugs, minerals, and poisons, used in mechanics and manufacture, enriched with the putrefying carcasses of beasts and men;..how could the feces part of the water be the least offensive? to me I would assume that was the worst part or am I reading this wrong? I found it interesting that things that our societies use to enrich our world, are used in this quote as “poison” . Maybe all the things we think benefit our world actually pollute or poison our world. After all this is the stories of people traveling to see the beautiful natural parts of England.

3 thoughts on “gender switch’s and cheap love

  1. Hi Sarah! I enjoyed reading your post, as you made several interesting points. In regard to your statement, “I found it interesting that things that our societies use to enrich our world, are used in this quote as ‘poison.'” Are you referring to Bramble’s mention of the “drugs, minerals, and poisons, used in mechanics and manufacture”? I got the impression that Bramble is using the word “drug” differently than we do today. I think he’s saying that the Thames is contaminated with industrial waste. Maybe the word “drug” could be used to describe any chemically active concoction, rather than only those used for medical treatment? When he mentioned “mechanics and manufacture,” I was thinking about lead, arsenic, lye, coal, and stuff like that. This was the very beginning of the industrial revolution, when industrial waste was just becoming a serious concern in cities.

    Regardless, his point was pretty clear. I would definitely not want to drink water from the Thames, then or now. 😛

  2. Hey! So In my post I was meaning that particular part of the quote but was not necessarily referring to prescription drugs but when I used the word poison I ment we have all these necessities that leave behind “waste” and are at that point become toxic. I totally agree with you and would not want to drink from there either!!!!!

  3. I enjoyed the connection you made here with the gender issues regarding Tabitha Bramble. I noted when I was reading this how she did seem to reach beyond the normally acceptable reach of women of the time in both character and action but I hadn’t made the leap to comparing her to a man. After reading your post I went back and took another look and I can definately see this aspect of her character. Very male in the way she acts at some instances and yet she also maintains the more delicate aspects of feminity, although not in the agreeable sense one thinks of when looking at women of this period.

Leave a Reply

